Astrology For Dummies: What Is Astrology?

astro

 

How I Learned About Astrology:

Before I get into the whole “what is astrology” mess, let me tell you a little story, an introduction, or a tiny Bio about myself, if you will.

I was raised in a rural area where people are a tad closed-minded. Okay, really closed-minded. My whole family are Christians, being raised with the Christian belief, going to church on Sundays, being baptized and all, etc., etc. But I wasn’t. I wasn’t raised with the Christian belief, other than my dad watching preachers on TV on Sunday mornings, I wasn’t took to church ever, considering by the time I was born, my family was going through a weird time, and it just didn’t happen, and I sure as heck wasn’t baptized. Sure, my demonic sister was, but me? Nope. So she gets saved and I don’t, of course.

But anyway, that isn’t the point.

The point is, is that my family are closed-minded, only sticking to the Christian belief, and anything else is wrong. (Note: not all Christians are this way. My mom is much more supportive of my beliefs than the rest of my family, and I cherish that. I am aware some people reading this may be Christian. In fact, my favorite astrologer, Alyssa Sharpe, is a Christian). I’m just saying that most of my family, because of their beliefs, do not accept astrology. So, naturally, anything and everything related to astrology or the occult, was cut out of the household. It wasn’t so much viewed as “demonic”, but more so just bull hocky.

So I had no idea what astrology was, other than the little articles in magazines telling you your daily fortune based on your birth date. And even then, I wasn’t even aware of the other zodiac signs. I couldn’t even name two of them, and sometimes I’d even forget my own zodiac sign.

Fast forward to late 2014, I do a random Google search on the zodiac sign Cancer (I’m a Cancer, fun fact about me, again). I don’t know what possessed me to look it up, and I honestly just don’t know why I did it. But, I did. Maybe it was destiny, who knows?

So for the next couple of months it was all about Cancer. I looked up everything there was to know about Cancerians, Youtube videos and the like. I don’t exactly remember how I found out about birth/natal charts, I think it just kind’ve happened. After going through my baby book to find my birth time, and calculating my birth chart on some shady website, I was confused as heck. I just remember being like, “what is this?”

Something extremely confusing to my uneducated mind, that’s what. I’m just now starting to kind’ve  understand what it is exactly all about, after getting my birth chart read by the lovely Alyssa Sharpe.

Oh, and by the way, can ya tell I’m a fan yet?

 

Astrology = Pseudoscience:

So anyway, to get to the actual point, here I am now, and I’m gonna try and tell you what it’s kind’ve all about, in the simplest way I can. (Note: I’ll discuss exactly how a birth chart is created and what the chart means over all in a different post, this is simply just astrology itself, for the most part).

Astrology is a pseudoscience, meaning, that it is mistaken as being based on scientific method. So sure, astrology is not proven to be true. But really, what is? Aliens, ghosts, and religion isn’t proven to be true, but plenty of people believe in that. Honestly, my opinion is, is that the things you can’t prove, probably aren’t meant to be proven. All of those occultist things are just too much for this mortal world to get a grasp onto, and are meant to be based on faith, not fact. The afterlife? Yeah, you’ll figure out what that’s all about when you die, not while you’re living, hence why it’s called the afterlife.

So yes, astrology is just a belief, but so are a lot of things. And in my opinion, I believe in astrology quite a bit. Everything I’ve seen, heard, and read about astrology has proven to be true, and it’s yet to prove me wrong.

 

What Is Astrology, Really?

So to get down to business, astrology is a practicing belief, but what is it really?

The astrology I’m talking about is not your little horoscope of the day. My idea of a horoscope and your idea are probably two different things. What’s my idea, you ask?

Horoscopes, or birth/natal charts, is a chart made up of all of the zodiac signs, along with these not-so-little things called houses, planets, and aspects. And this chart tells a story about you. Everyone’s chart is unique, no one’s is exactly alike. It tells you about your personality, your relationships, your emotions, your childhood, etc. Honestly, it tells you everything. Well, not everything. Sure, it won’t tell you when you’re gonna die and how many kids you’re gonna have and stuff like that, but it tells you how you are in the most basic (or, actually, very deep), sense.

So to put it simply: your birth/natal chart is you. Your personality. Just, you. And no two charts will be exactly alike, just as no two people will be exactly alike either.

So, how do you get a hold of this said birth chart?

Well, based on your time of birth, your birth date, and the place you were born, you can calculate you chart. Just Google “birth chart calculator”, and voilà, there it is. To start off I’d just recommend looking at the first 10 planets and your ascendant/rising Sign. Skip the asteroids for now.

The 10 planets are the Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto. Each planet is an area of your personality (ex. Moon is your emotions, Sun is your ego, Venus is your love, etc.). All 10 planets will fall into a zodiac sign, some people may have a cluster of the same zodiac sign, some people will have signs all over the place. Then, each planet with the zodiac sign in it (ex. Mars in Aries, Jupiter in Taurus, etc.), will also have a house that tags along (ex. Mars in Aries in the 10th house, Mercury in Scorpio in the 7th house, etc.). The houses are basically the same as the zodiac signs, there being 12 houses as there are 12 zodiac signs. Each house is linked to its zodiac sign in order, for example, Aries (1st house), Taurus (2nd house), Gemini (3rd house), Cancer (4th house), and so on. The sign that a planet is in expresses how you react to that said planet. For example, Mars in Aries is pretty tough (in a kind’ve good way). Mars is the sexual/aggressive planet, and Aries is a very passionate, aggressive sign. Actually, Aries is ruled by Mars, meaning a person with Aries on their Mars will feel more comfortable, explosive, or masculine in the areas of sex or anger.

The houses just tell whatever area of life your planet is being played out in. For example, Moon in Taurus in the 7th house. Taurus is an earth sign, and is represented by beauty, wealth, food, etc. (Those are just the good traits, mind you), and the 7th house is the house of relationships. The 7th house is ruled by Libra, the sign of relationships. So basically, a person with a Taurus Moon in the 7th house may desire more grounded, secure relationships. They also will attract, and will be, a pleasing partner. (Is it makin’ any sense yet? Hopefully, that’d be a yes).

(Note: If you do not have your exact birth time, you won’t be able to know what your houses are and what your Ascendant is).

All in all, It’s a great tool to learn about yourself, and in my opinion, other people. What can I say? I’m all about that natal chart stalkin’ lyfe, yo.

So before you think you are just your one zodiac sign, like for me, Cancer, know you aren’t. You are all of the signs. Your personality can be anything, not just a horoscope in a magazine.

Leave a comment